Featured Work

MASS (1971)

On September 8, 1971, the inauguration audience for the brand-new John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts experienced the world premiere of Leonard Bernstein's MASS: A Theatre Piece for Singers, Players and Dancers. 2021 is therefore a double birthday: for the Kennedy Center and for MASS, its inaugural piece.

Read more

The Leonard Bernstein Office Mission

The Leonard Bernstein Office (LBO) sustains and strengthens Leonard Bernstein’s legacy by inspiring global engagement with his work as a composer, conductor, educator, and humanitarian. Through licensing, promotion, music editing, and publishing, the LBO strives to communicate his lifelong devotion to the transformative power and joy of music.

Submit your memories to the Leonard Bernstein Memory Project and help us keep his legacy alive.

Thus Spake Leonard Bernstein:

“Teaching is probably the noblest profession in the world -- the most unselfish, difficult, and honorable profession, but it is also the most unappreciated, underrated, underpaid, and under-praised profession in the world.”

Leonard Bernstein, “A Tribute to Teachers”, 1963

News and Events

Come On, Deliver...
the latest Leonard Bernstein news... to me!